I QUIT!


Hello my lovelies, welcome to Elegant Ageless Beauty, I’m Teresa.

A week ago today I quit smoking! It just had to be done, and this time it’s for GOOD! I did try a few years ago and I was successful for about 18 months, but then the stress of life had me reaching for the ciggies again! When I did quit before, I started using an E. Cigarette, vaping instead of smoking, and that’s what I’m doing again this time. 

IMG_7965

Mark has quit too, and also using the vape stick or E cigarette. We smoked menthol cigarettes so we chose to use menthol flavour in our vape sticks, and they are working, neither of us has touched a cigarette since.  

I haven’t had any craving for a cigarette as such since I stopped, but I’ve felt a bit down in the proverbial dumps for a couple of hours a few times during this first week, it’s mostly been when Mark is at work and I’m home alone that I’m most affected. After the first full day of not smoking cigarettes I really did feel pretty good. I went to bed that night and I didn’t have a rattly wheezy chest, and I didn’t start coughing as soon as I lay my head on the pillow either. 

Over the week though I’ve been craving sweet things, but I haven’t been reaching for chocolate bars, instead I’ve been eating gorgeous sticky Dates and occasionally soft chewy liquorice, I have about 6 Dates and a couple of pieces of liquorice as soon as I get a craving for something sweet, and that works for me, the craving has soon gone. 

I don’t know if it’s related to quitting smoking but I have had trouble sleeping. It can either be that it takes me ages to fall asleep or I fall asleep then wake a few hours later unable to drop off again. Are you a quitter that has the same problem?

So, that’s my first week as a non smoker in a rather small nutshell. If you don’t mind I’ll come back next week and give you an update on how things are going, and if you have any tips for me I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

XXX

EABfooter

10 comments on “I QUIT!

  1. Huge congratulations. I quit about 20 years ago and it was the best move I ever made. You will soon start coughing up disgusting slimy blobs that are your lungs cleaning themselves. It is nasty but oh so nice! You will also notice how much better your sense of smell is. Quitting smoking is the best decision anyone can make.

  2. Well done Teresa, I gave up 2 years ago on May 1st after 38 years of smoking, I don’t think I would’ve done it without the e cig, which I am still using, keep going xx

    • Thank you Jude, and well done you for being smoke free for 2 years! I don’t think I could have found it as easy as I have if I wasn’t using my e cig. Thank you for your comment my lovely Xx

  3. Hi Teresa, I’m just checking in to ask you how you and Mark are doing – and to share my “I quit!” story!

    When I read this post a few weeks ago, I thought “why can’t I just quit?” I thought about giving up smoking for quite some time. I’ve smoked 20+ a day for over 20 years (I’m 35 now) – so you could say that everything I’ve done, I did it with cigarettes!

    Last Monday I started to read up on tips and advice for prospective quitters. I liked some of the stuff I read (withdrawal is only temporary), but I wasn’t happy with other bits (physical symptoms). So I didn’t make any arrangements (like setting a quit date, buying nicotine gums, etc).

    So what happened? On Wednesday, just before I went to bed, I realised that I only had a few cigarettes left. I knew I’d have to go to the store before work on Thursday. But I didn’t. I finished up the last pack, and I had my last cigarette just after 2.00 pm last Thursday. The first two hours were weird – because I knew I didn’t want to buy cigarettes. I think my brain went into panic mode. After 4 hours I thought, wow, 4 hours without a cigarette – how awesome is that? Sure, I wanted a cigarette. I wanted it badly – but I didn’t give in because I thought I can sleep through most nights without a cigarette, so I should be able to do 7 or maybe even 8 hours whilst I’m awake.

    The next four hours were torture. I googled “quit smoking” and “why quit smoking” to get some more help and advice. I found an excellent book online – it’s called “Never Take Another Puff” (it’s free, just google the title, click the link, and start reading). I must have read about 40 pages until the message sunk in. All I have to do to quit smoking is to Never Take Another Puff! It’s so true! Sure, I felt like a drug-addict looking for a fix. I was thinking about buying ciggies at the corner store, I really wanted to reward myself with just a few puffs. But you know what? I didn’t do it. Whilst I felt like a druggie, and whilst I thought “Must. Have. Cigarettes.”, I also thought that it was pretty cool that I managed to be smoke-free for 8 hours. Pretty cool! And I felt like I was competing against myself!

    Anyway, I got home late last Thursday. And the lift in our building wasn’t working (this happens every other week…). So I had to take the stairs. Guess what? My heart didn’t start racing half-way up. And there was no wheezing, no heavy breathing, and no coughing. WOW! Totally unexpected!

    I should have gone to bed – but I read some more online. Apparently the consensus is that you have to tell your family and friends, that you have to have ‘support’, that you should not have ’emergency’ cigarettes in the house, that you shouldn’t even see ash trays or lighters, that you should have nicotine gums or patches, that you need to keep your hands busy… and that you should distract yourself from smoking.

    Well, I didn’t tell anyone that I hadn’t touched a cigarette in half a day, I didn’t even tell my husband – I even faked having cigarettes on the balcony (I just put my coat on and stayed outside for a few minutes) because I didn’t want to have that big quit talk. My husband doesn’t smoke and I just knew he wouldn’t be able to help. He’d make a big thing out of it. He’d mean well, but he wouldn’t be able to help. Moving on… so whilst I had no one and nothing to support me, I also continued to read about smoking and quitting smoking. Distractions? Zero! It was just after 2.00 am when I went to bed. Whilst I haven’t thought about anything other than cigarettes, I managed to stay smoke-free for 12 hours. Apparently the big detox happens in the first 72 hours after your last cigarette, and I felt proud that I was had already completed one sixth of it!

    I only got up around 11.00 am on Friday. But that was OK. I work from home every Friday (and every Tuesday as well), so I can start and finish work whenever I want – as long as I do my 7 hours. Anyway, when I woke up, I felt strangely well-rested. Sure, I wanted a cigarette. I think I would have smoked two ciggies if I had had any. But I didn’t have any, and I didn’t buy any. Then I got up, had a shower, I logged on for work – and all of a sudden it was 2.00 pm! I was smoke-free for 24 hours! I completed one third of the detox. I felt… great!

    1 day down, 2 more to go! I had read about the physical symptoms of withdrawal – shaky hands, headaches, pains… – but it wasn’t that bad. I had shaky hands, I even had shaky legs – but it wasn’t really that severe. If I were to compare the physical symptoms of nicotine withdrawal with shivering in the cold, I’d say shivering in the cold for 1 minute only is ten times worse. My brain went crazy though! I had a minor computer issue – and I was tempted to smash my laptop to pieces. I cried. Why? Well, I’m used to having a ciggie in a stressful situation. But I couldn’t have one. That made me angry. Very angry. Again, the physical symptoms were very minor, but I thought I’d go crazy, and I thought I wouldn’t be able to quit. I told myself that failing to quit wouldn’t be a massive failure, because I was so unprepared. It would be fine. I continued to read about quitting smoking – until 2.00 am that night. I felt like a train wreck, but it was all in my head. My body felt quite OK. Anyway, it was at this point that I realised I had now made it through the first 36 hours. That’s half the detox process! Nicotine takes about 48 to 72 hours to leave the body, and this is the time when the cravings and the withdrawal symptoms peak. I tried to prepare myself for the worst that was yet to come. But I also tried to stay calm. I knew that if I were to sleep for 12 hours, I would be smoke-free for 48 hours – which would mean that I’d already gone through two thirds of the detox! In the end I managed to sleep for 11 hours – but it was surprisingly OK!

    On Saturday, my husband and I spent a quiet day at home. I didn’t fake going for a smoke anymore. My husband realised that I had run out of ciggies, and he offered to buy me cigarettes. I shrieked. And I shouted “NOOOOOOOOOOO”! Then I covered my ears and I turned away. I had to get the ciggies out of my mind! Fortunately my husband didn’t slip up again, so I forgave him his mishap (well, he didn’t know that I hadn’t smoked in two days…). From then on the third day was largely uneventful. Yes, I would have liked a cigarette here and there. But at the same time I started to feel free. I didn’t feel like I had to have a cigarette after each meal. And I didn’t feel that I had to pop out every 45 minutes. It was strangely OK. I thought the third day would be the most difficult day – but everything was much easier than on days 1 and 2. When I went to bed, I knew I was almost there.

    When I woke up on Sunday morning, I felt happy. Whilst the critical 72 hours weren’t over, I felt fine and strangely proud of myself. I knew the last 4 hours wouldn’t be a problem. And they weren’t. I think I had 5 or 6 short craving episodes, but things were OK. By the way, the cravings went away after 2 or maybe 3 minutes. 🙂

    When I woke up this morning, I knew I did it! I woke up thinking that I’m an ex-smoker now. My body is 100% nicotine-free, and because of this I don’t feel the need for a cigarette anymore. The lure of the nicotine… it’s gone!

    I have noticed some chest pains – apparently this is normal because the lungs are starting to heal. They’re now having some kind of a clear-out! 🙂
    But that’s OK. I know I’ve made a huge change to my lifestyle. Yes, it wasn’t planned. But I couldn’t be happier. I’m also glad that I didn’t tell anybody so I didn’t have to wonder “What if I can’t do it? Will I have to tell everyone that I failed?” I was glad that I didn’t have that pressure at all!

    As of now, I have been smoke-free for 109 hours! I have no intention of touching tobacco again. And I also won’t have to vape. Nicotine has no power over me anymore – that’s if I stay away from it! Also from now on, there is no such thing as “just one cigarette” – because my brain is wired to go all nuts over nicotine again.

    I think that if I ever feel like smoking again, I’d go for herbal cigarettes. Whilst they’re just as bad as regular cigarettes, they’re nicotine-free, so they don’t give you that wonderful and addictive nicotine-rush. How do I know? I read a lot about cigarettes, quitting, help and advice whilst I should have distracted myself. 😉

    Anyway, Teresa, I know you and Mark can quit together. Yes, vaping is much safer than smoking tobacco, but you’re still addicted to nicotine. And it’s the nicotine addiction that makes it more likely that you’ll switch to cigarettes again. Now that your body is healing, you might feel aches and pains you haven’t had whilst you were smoking cigarettes. And this is why vaping might not seem to “do the job”. Stats show that people who try to quit smoking by vaping or with the help of nicotine gums or patches are more likely to go back to cigarettes. On the other hand side, those who quit cold turkey are most likely to stay smoke-free for life.

    Try to ditch the e-cigs. The first two hours will be weird. The first eight hours will be tough. But after 12 hours you’ll feel much fitter than usual. Try it! Take the stairs, run for a short distance – you’ll feel it and this will boost your willpower! And you need willpower because hours 24 to 48 are definitely testing! And keep in mind, after 72 hours it’s all over. After 72 hours the drug is out of your system. The lure of the nicotine will be gone. And the physical pain which comes from your body healing itself is definitely tolerable! Just make it throught the first 72 hours.

    And don’t worry about falling back into your old smoking habits. Once the nicotine is out of your system, all you have to deal with is the ‘habit’ part of smoking. But don’t worry about that. Make it through 72 hours – and the worst is over. Go gold turkey. And never take another puff. 🙂

    Many apologies for the long comment. I just wanted to share this with you because I think that this post of yours put me in the right mindset – like I said earlier on, I read the post and I thought I want to be smoke-free too! And now I am! 5 days ago I was an addict who’d smoke 20 to 25 cigarettes a day. Now I am not. You can do it too!

    • Thank you so much for this, you are AMAZING! Well done for quitting, and for doing it “cold turkey” too. I shall be doing an update post over the next couple of days. I still use my ecig, but the nicotine content in it is now at the lowest percentage. I also don’t pick it up as much as I used too. I used to use it having a coffee all the time, now I don’t. I would pick it up while writing, now I don’t. Yes, I’ve had chest pains since stopping smoking, I’ve also had a cough and the shakes too, to be honest I have felt ill since quitting. But at almost 6 weeks smoke free my next step is stopping the vaping too. I am so happy for you my lovely, and your comment has made my day. Thank you so much for sharing this with me. XX

  4. Congrats on quitting smoking. That’s a huge accomplishment! If your having trouble sleeping they have special herbal tinctures you can vape like valerian root and others for relaxation. Maybe you could vape those before you go to sleep to help you relax. Although I haven’t tried them I heard the effect is very subtle and instant. I would greatly appreciate it if you would follow me or check out my blog on vaping. Either way thank you for your inspirational writings. And good luck on your vaping journey! -bel

    • Thanks so much, and I shall check out my local vape shop for herbal tinctures you suggest, I do want to try going nicotine free asap, I feel like I’m ready now. Teresa

      • Yes. That’s my goal too. I’m at 6mg now but I hope to go down to 3mg strength next time. Zero is the goal. Thanks for the follow. I hope you can sleep well soon. I have the same problem but I usually take melatonin which sometimes helps. But I have a math exam tomorrow for which I’ll probably up all night, yipes! Oh well I hope I get a good grade. Math, ugh, is difficult for me.

Drop me a line

