I’M GIVING UP SMOKING!……


Hello again lovely people!

Yes so it’s Lent and everyone gives up something for just a few weeks. Me? I’ve given up something that is for the rest of my life! I am on my way to becoming a non-smoker, I gave up smoking once before for a whole year, but I took up the habit again because of……well I don’t know why I started again to be honest. I was stupid to start again. I have lost people very dear to me through smoking related diseases, I have 3 beautiful Grandchildren and another one due in May and I want to see them all grown up with children of their own, so I know I have to give up smoking again and this time for good!

It’s National No Smoking Day on 12th March in UK, but I’ve started stopping earlier, if you get my drift. Mark my other half is giving up too and he popped out yesterday and got us both an E cigarette. I don’t know if I could do it just by going “cold turkey”

IMG_7965

We started with the electronic cigarette, I hated it at first. It’s the size of a marker pen! I just thought it was so un-feminine, but then again what’s so feminine about a cigarette? The electronic cigarette is a substitute for my cigarettes now, it’s rechargeable by USB and it’s refilled with a liquid. When using the “cigarette” what would be the smoke is actually a vapour from the liquid. It does contain nicotene, which is the  addictive chemical, and you can gradually use less nicotene to wean yourself from the addiction. What you don’t get with this Ecigarette is all the harmful tar and thousands of other disgusting “killers”. I am having mood swings, sometimes I want to cry sometimes I want to scream at something or somebody. But I will get through it, I am on my way to being smoke free!

Some people when they stop smoking will buy sweets/candy, I love peppermints and would choose those over chocolate and candy every time. Sometimes I feel like I want to “pig” out on something sweet, something comforting. I think a banana might curb that craving though. Anyway I found this chart below of the benefits your body has after you give up smoking.

After;

20 minutes Your heart rate and blood pressure return to normal
8 hours Nicotine and carbon monoxide start to leave your body and oxygen levels return to normal.
24 hours Your lungs start to clear out mucus and other smoking debris.
48 hours Nicotine has been eliminated from your body and your sense of smell and taste both improve.
2 – 12 weeks Exercise becomes easier and your breathing improves.
3 – 9 months Any coughs, wheezing and breathing problems are reduced as your lungs repair.
1 year Your risk of coronary heart disease is now half that of a smoker.

I took this chart from The British Heart Foundation’s Give up Smoking campaign website. Please visit HERE

I am determined to become a lifelong non-smoker this time and using my Ecigarette will help me along the way. If you don’t mind, I will post on my blog every day how I am feeling, how I am getting on and if the Ecig is helping me at all. If you are considering giving up smoking on National No Smoking day this Wednesday 12th of March and you want to try the Ecig Wizard electronic cigarette like me, then take a look at the website HERE

Good Luck to you if you are giving up smoking!

footer

7 comments on “I’M GIVING UP SMOKING!……

  1. I was a 30 a day smoker,started at 17 and 20 yrs later finally kicked the ciggies and switched to vaping.tried zyban,champex,patches,inhalers,gum,the works.nothing worked..but vaping has done the job.now i scratch my nicotine itch without killing myself.if i can do it so can anyone,best of luck.
    (grab yourself some peppermint or banana e juice😋)

Drop me a line

