REVERSE HAIR WASHING?…….


Hello again lovely people!

shampoo-woman-washing-hair

So, I was reading Mail Online yesterday and came across an article where a writer, Alison Freer was given some advice by one of her readers to try “reverse hair washing”. We all usually shampoo rinse then apply conditioner then rinse out again (unless you have a leave-in conditioner) she was advised to try washing her hair in reverse, where by you wet hair then add conditioner leave it for 2 minutes then add shampoo and rinse. Check the article out HERE, it makes for a very interesting read.

So hey guess what peeps? I washed my hair using this method this morning, and I have to say it worked for me! I wet my hair then massaged through my conditioner, I left it on for 2 minutes before applying shampoo. It lathered really well so next time I won’t use quite so much. I rinsed as usual and wrapped my hair in a towel. Before I decided to “reverse wash” my hair I thought that when I blow dried it, my hair would end up being very fly away and static, so for this “experiment” I didn’t use my usual styling products, I just used my hairdryer and hairbrush to style. I must say I was pleasantly surprised! My hair felt thicker, it’s conditioned and it certainly isn’t fly away.

Now, my hair is layered and the length is to my jaw so this is just how it worked for me, I don’t know if “reverse hair washing” will work on long hair, it might not be for everybody. But I think I shall be using this method from now on.

What do you think, would you try this method when washing your hair? If you try it I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below or over on my facebook page.

 

Have a good week.

footer

17 comments on “REVERSE HAIR WASHING?…….

  1. Well I could have had an extra few minutes in bed today with the time this saved me! I have to wash my hair every day, I have short hair, which is very fine and flyaway, but there is a lot of, but it’s difficult to style (every hairdresser tells me this too), I spent a long time and a lot of money finding the perfect products to hold my hair in place and this results in me having to wash it every day. I always have to wash it twice and then condition it, I find that the first wash with shampoo I don’t get the shampoo to lather up much and I put this down to having so much products in my hair! Anyway, today I did what you said, wet hair and put conditioner on and left for a few minutes and then just added shampoo (felt a bit strange doing it), but I was so surprised at how the shampoo lathered up straight away, then I rinsed and styled as usual with my usual products and hairdryer. It seems absolutely fine – it’s clean and I don’t think it was so flyaway. I will keep trying this for the rest of this week unless I see it’s not working for me, will be good for me if it does though as normally I have to rinse my hair 3 times and today it was only the once! Thank you so much for sharing. xx

    • Thank you so much for trying this method Vonnie. I usually wash my hair 2-3 times a week and it is saving such a lot of time isn’t it? I’m going to wash it and put my hair in some velcro rollers today and leave it to dry naturally, velcro rollers have always caused static in my hair in the past so I shall see if it still happens with the reverse hair washing. Teresa.x

  2. You can also just wash with conditioner, you wet your hair, use conditioner as you would shampoo, then rinse and do it again, it works surprisingly well, and i have long hair.

    • Hi Kathy. I applied the conditioner to wet hair, massaged it through, then I applied shampoo onto the conditioner and massaged it through then rinsed. As I said in my post I have short hair so I wouldn’t know if this is a good method for long hair. Thank you for commenting.

  3. Hello
    It’s worked for me, I do this 6 days out of 7, the 7th day I put in a colour saver conditioner so have to shampoo first, but the reverse washing is working for me, thank you again
    X

  4. It’s me who needs to thank you for posting. I had never heard of this before and I am sure it’s helping to preserve my hair colour, it’s been three weeks since my colour and its still ok, usually it’s really faded by now and needing ‘re-doing but it’s fine. Enjoy the rest of your weekend and keep up the good work, I enjoy reading your blog. x

Drop me a line

